2009— Best Paper Award at the Fifth International Conference on Intelligent Computing (ICIC'09), Ulsan, Korea, for the paper T. Rutkowski, T. Tanaka, A. Cichocki, D. Erickson, and D. P. Mandic, "Interative Component Extraction for Affective Brain Machine Interface Paradigms" , September 2009.
2009— Letter of Appreciation Award by RIKEN, Japan , for Special recognition of outstanding research achievements and contribution to increased public recognition of RIKEN , September 2009.
2007— The Eric Cadwaladr Davies Prize for the the best student thesis for Dr Su Lee Goh, "Complex Nonlinear Adaptive Filters", supervised by D. Mandic
2006— Best Poster Award for M. Golz, D. Sommer, and D. P. Mandic, "Establishing a Gold Standard for Drivers Microsleep Detection", International Conference on Monitoring Sleep and Sleepiness from Physiology to New Sensors, Basel, May 2006.
2005—World University Service (WUS) Visiting Lecturer within the Brain Gain Programme (BGP)
2005—Best Final Year Project for Panagiotis-Aristidis Kountouriotis, "Echo State Networks for Real Time Signal Processing", supervised by D. Mandic
2004—Best Student paper award for S. L. Goh, D. Popovic and D. P. Mandic, "Complex Valued Estimation of Wind Profile and Wind Power" , in the 12th IEEE MELECON Conference
2003—Student paper award for K. Pauwels, T. Gautama, D. P. Mandic, and M. M. Van Hulle, "Towards Mode Detection", The 4th International Conference on Recent Advances in Soft Computing, RASC2002, Nottingham, UK.
1997—Awarded a grant from the Lord Hirst fund for postgraduate research
1996—A Visiting Academic Fellowship awarded by the British Council;
1996— A "Nikola Tesla" Medal for inventory work on computer-oriented devices for the blind;
1996— Special Award for a Braille organizer "Handy-Braille" International Technical Fair, Belgrade, Yugoslavia (industrial patent with Cajavec plc.)
1995—Gold Medal for a computer system for the blind "PC Brailler" International Fair of Electronics and Informatics, Novi Sad, Yugoslavia (industrial patent with Cajavec plc.)
1988—Award given by the Council of Education, for innovations in teaching
1986—University of Banjaluka scholarship for excellence in studying
1984—Medal for excellence in studying given by University of Banjaluka
1981—Awarded by the high-school board for excellence in studying