

NEWS RELEASE

LUNCHTIME RECEPTION



Dr Helena Bailes, 2007 Westminster Medallist and Prize-Winner, with Malcolm Wicks MP and Dr Malcolm Skingle

The 2007 Westminster Medallist and Prize-Winners with Dr Malcolm Skingle, Malcolm Wicks MP and Dr Eric Wharton

Annual Presentations at the House of Commons by Britain's Early-Career Research Scientists, Engineers and Technologists - Monday, 19 March 2007 The Ninth Great British Research and R&D Show and National Competition for the 2007 Westminster Awards (donated by GlaxoSmithKline at Lunchtime)

Sponsoring Member: Dr Brian Iddon MP

(Member of the Commons' Select Committee for Science and Technology)



Dr Helena Bailes, Postdoctoral Scientist at Manchester University, wins the 2007 Gold Award comprising the 2007 Westminster Medal with a £1,000 Prize

About 160 of Britain's Early-Stage Researchers descended on the House of Commons to present posters on their researches and discoveries, to interact with each other and with MPs, and to compete for the above Awards. Organiser Dr Eric Wharton commented that these unique events brought the best of Britain's SET/STEM research to Parliament, especially by the people who are actually doing it. They had become a major feature of the Parliamentary "science" year.

Awards for the best research were once again kindly donated by GlaxoSmithKline and were presented by Malcolm Wicks MP, Minister for Science and Innovation.

Winner of the Gold Award (see above) was **Dr Helena Bailes** for her work on "Shedding Light on Drosophila Brain Activity using a Human Photoreceptor Protein". The main aim of Helena's research is to try and gain a better understanding of the contribution that individual brain cell types have on overall behaviour. The Silver Award (£750) was won by **Dr Wim Thielemans** (Nottingham

University, SF/UL) for research on "Nanomaterials from Nature" while the Bronze Award (£500) was won by **Dr Anastasia Callaghan** (Portsmouth University, SF) for work on "RNA binding and cleavage mechanism of RNase E".

Commendation Prizes of £250 each were won by **Loïc Baboulaz** (Imperial College, RS, "Image Super-Resolution Algorithms"), **Dr Andrew Cook** (Pfizer R&D, IR, "Dopamine 3 Receptor Agonist"), **Dr Volkan Esat** (Loughborough University, PDRA, "Pregnant Car-Occupant Safety"), **Carol Johnston** (Cambridge University, RS, "Semipolar InGaN/GaN Quantum Wells), **Saher Mehdi** (Durham University, RS, "New Regulators of Root Growth"), and **Zoe Urry** (MRC & Asthma UK Centre, King's College London, RS, "Vitamin D3 and Asthma-Associated Immune Responses").

Acknowledgement: Thanks are expressed by SET for BRITAIN to Dr Brian Iddon MP and GlaxoSmithKline for their continuing support of this Reception, and to the poster judges for their enthusiastic and dedicated work in judging the posters.



Contact: Dr Eric Wharton at ew@s-f-e.org Website: www.setforeurope.org

Key: RS = Research Student, PDRA/F = Postdoc, Research Assistant/Fellow, SF/UL = Senior Fellow/University Lecturer, IR = Industrial Researcher





NEWS RELEASE

EVENING RECEPTION



Li Zhang (2007 De Montfort Medallist) with Sir David King

The 2007 Prize-Winners (Evening) with Sir David King, Dr Brian Iddon MP and Dr Eric Wharton

Annual Presentations at the House of Commons by Britain's Early-Career Research Scientists, Engineers and Technologists - Monday, 19 March 2007 The Ninth Great British Research and R&D Show and National Competition for the 2007 Westminster Awards (Evening)

Sponsoring Member: Dr Brian Iddon MP

(Member of the Commons' Select Committee for Science and Technology)

Yi Zhang, Research Student at Cambridge University, wins the 2007 De Montfort Medal with a £1,000 Prize

About 90 of Britain's Early-Stage Researchers descended on the House of Commons to present posters on their researches and discoveries, to interact with each other and with MPs, and to compete for the above Awards. Organiser Dr Eric Wharton commented that these unique events brought the best of Britain's SET/STEM research to Parliament, especially by the people who are actually doing it. They had become a major feature of the Parliamentary "science" year.

Awards for the best research were presented by Professor Sir David King KB ScD FRS, Chief Scientific Adviser to HM Government.

Winner of the Top Award at the Evening Reception was **Yi Zhang** (see above) for his work on "Enhancing the Plasticity of Metallic Glasses: A Cost-Effective Approach". This work facilitates

applications of metallic glasses as engineering materials, and which can be substitutes for conventional metallic materials in extreme conditions.

Commendation Prizes of £250 each were won by **Tom Bishop** (Edinburgh University, RS, "Restoring Blurry Photos"), **David Kelly** (Heriot-Watt University, PDRA "Identifying Depleted Appliance Trap Seals"), **Dr Katharina Mahn** (MRC & Asthma UK Centre, London, PDRA, "Asthma – the Role of Calcium Handling by Airway Smooth Muscle"), and **Pranav Somaiya** (University of Sheffield, SF/UL, "Rapid Diagnosis of MRSA).

Acknowledgement: Thanks are expressed by SET for BRITAIN to Dr Brian Iddon MP for sponsoring this Reception, and to the poster judges for their enthusiastic and dedicated work in assessing the posters and the research described in them.





Contact: Dr Eric Wharton at ew@s-f-e.org Website: www.setforeurope.org

Key: RS = Research Student, PDRA/F = Postdoc, Research Assistant/Fellow, SF/UL = Senior Fellow/University Lecturer, IR = Industrial Researcher